Click for Kalaheo, Hawaii Forecast
Reviews

Professional Reviews & in The Media

Hawaii Magazine: Best of the Best issue 2013
The votes are in! The Kauai Country Inn has been voted the BEST bed and breakfast in Kauai 2013!
We came in at #4 in the State of Hawaii (that's Kauai and all the other island combined), and at #1 on the island of Kauai! WOW! Thank you to everyone who has voted for us, we appreciate you, our loyal customers and your patronage.
A BIG ALOHA from your Kauai Country Inn staff: Jeff, Martina, Mike and Tricia
Excerpt from the "Best of the Best" issue








Frommer's Hawaii & Frommer's Kauai
FINDS**
Kauai Country Inn. Book this place! It's hard to believe that nestled in the rolling hills behind Kapaa, this old-fashioned country inn exists. Hosts Mike and Martina Hough, refugees from life in the fast lane (they used to run an international advertising agency in Los Angeles), have taken their considerable creative talents and produced a slice of paradise on two acres. Each of the four suites is uniquely decorated in Hawaiian Art Deco with a touch of humor, complete with hardwood floors, a kitchen or kitchenette, your own computer with high speed Internet connection, and lots of little amenities. Everything is top-drawer, from the furniture to the sub-zero refrigerator. The grounds are immaculate, and you can pick as much organic fruit as you want from the abundance of mango, guava, likely, starfruit, oranges and lemons.
Beatles fans take note: Mike has been collecting memorabilia for decades and has the only private Beatles Museum in the state (including a Mini Cooper S car owned by Beatles manager Brian Epstein, original paintings by John Lennon, and a host of books, records, movies, tapes, T-shirts, and other interesting and unusual rare items. Annie, the house golden retriever, personally greets each guest like her long-lost friend.
Frommer's web article








Lonely Planet Kauai Guide
THE AUTHOR'S CHOICE
"
Kauai Country Inn. Pastoral setting. Spacious suites. Convenient kitchenettes. Private Beatles Museum. Huh? No joke! This classy inn can't be beat in aesthetics, amenities or mod eccentricity. The four suites all have either kitchen or kitchenette, TV/DVD (and over 1500 DVD's available for rent), in-suite Macintosh computers with high-speed internet access and w-fi throughout the property. The palatial 1200 sq. ft. Green Rose Suite is spectacular with an open bean vaulted 18 ft. ceiling, knotty pine walls, full modern kitchen, funky genuine jukebox stools and expansive 300 sq. ft. deck. Guests are invited to view an astounding array of Beatles memorabilia including a 1967 Mini Copper S car owned by Beatles manager Brian Epstein. The British & German hosts are friendly, articulate, and technologically savvy. No children under 10 in the suites."
Lonely Planet web article





Customer Reviews




Review Date: 5/20/13
NanaKas: “First time in Kauai/ First time at Kauai Country Inn”


We spent our first vacation in Hawaii on the beautiful island of Kauai and spent the entire week in the Yellow Ginger Room at Kauai Country Inn. We can't wait to stay there again. What a quiet, clean, wonderful place to stay. The suite was spacious and contained everything we could need to be comfortable and pampered...small kitchen, two large bedrooms and a lovely sitting room. Every morning we had a continental breakfast on the quiet front porch with the company of Jeff or Dave. They were delightful, friendly and very knowledgeable companions. The Inn is also easy to get to and close enough to just about anything you would like to visit on the island.
We fell in love with Hawaii, as everybody does; but we also fell in love with Kauai Country Inn. We give it five stars. We can't imagine any hotel being better.
Plus.....hotels don't have a Beatles museum!!!




Review Date: 5/9/13
Snowbirds06: “A unique vacation experience”

In all of our travels we have never felt so at home in an accommodation as we did at the Kauai Country Inn during our fifteen night stay in February. We chose the Green Rose Suite as we wanted the convenience of the fully equipped kitchen. This unit was a pleasure to wake up in and return to each day. We so appreciated all of the amenities and personal touches provided by Martina and Mike, including a welcoming bottle of wine and chocolates, in room computer, use of laundry facilities, the DVD and book library, sundry items in the event that something was forgotten and the unique decor. This was the relaxing, peaceful holiday that we were looking for. The Inn is located in the country next to a rainforest, however, the town of Kapaa is only a short drive away. KCI and Kauai exceeded our expectations. We loved the environment surrounding the Inn including the vegetation, the birds and even the roosters. Each day of our stay we had trouble dragging ourselves away to sightsee and in fact did spend three days in, simply to enjoy our surroundings. Jeff and Tricia provided us with breakfast (which included fresh bagels picked up by Mike each morning from town) and made sure that our rooms were clean and comfortable. They were both very friendly and approachable and provided a wealth of information to us as tourists visiting Kauai for the first time. As a diehard fan, one of the highlights of my stay was the wonderful morning of Beatles nostalgia provided by Mike in his museum located at the Inn. Mike is surely one of the foremost authorities on the group and generously shares his knowledge and collection with guests. The day that we left was a sad one indeed and we look forward to a return visit.






Review Date: 3/16/13
Barry T: “Beautifully furnished suite in a very tranquil area”


We stayed here for six nights in March. The suite we had was the Green Ginger. It is amazingly furnished with lots of ethnic artefacts and very spacious. Apart from a huge lounge it had a very large bedroom and kitchen and bathroom. It is about a fifteen minute drive from Kapaa and there are only other properties in this area so it is very peaceful but you have to drive to restaurants and shops. Breakfast is a simple affair but as you have a kitchen with microwave and fridge you can stock up on juice and cereals. Jeff the House Manager is an excellent host very attentive and helpful and very knowledgeable on the island. We had an excellent hike on his recommendation.




Review Date: 1/23/13
DelafieldBeerGeek: “Wonderful Experience”

My wife and I had a wonderful night there in January 2013. We would have loved to stay longer-but they were full. Such attention to details and a very comfortable place. What nice hosts-Jeff is great! We will definaty go back.





Review Date: 12/28/12
Nehema: “Perfect Honeymoon-Location”


On our final stay during our honeymoon we spent 5 nights at the Kauai Country Inn.
The Orchid Suite was absolutely lovely: nice hawaiian touch, comfortable, spacious, airy, clean. We especially enjoyed that it was not in a crowded city center but more in the middle of the rainforest. Quiet. Calm. What do you need more? Oh, the breakfast: they offer continental breakfast between 8-9 am (9-10 am on Sundays) which is decent, but was not enough for breakfast gurus like my husband and me... We rather spent our mornings at the Café Hemingway in Kapa´a city, absolutely worth the wait. However, the continental breakfast is not a reason to diminish the excellent rating. They try to keep the costs low and we appreciate that. We will definitely stay there again!




Review Date: 12/10/12
Ho6: “Beautiful rooms, good value, beautiful area”

This B&B has four suites; we stayed in the Plumeria and the Yellow Ginger. The rooms are beautifully decorated and fitted out; the owners have added a ton of nice extras - kitchens (with coffee), networked apple computers, DVD players and a separate video library in each room. Each room also has a selection of travel books on Hawaii and on Kauai. The rooms are so nice we lounged around each morning with a leisurely breakfast rather than rush off sightseeing. THere is no pool and no garden, but some rooms have spacious lanais and for those that don't, there is a porch on the front of the house you can use. Mike (the owner) is a bit of Beatles fan, to put it mildly, and has an amazing museum downstairs which you can visit on request. Allow yourself a full hour, but request that Mike keeps to it.
The hotel is removed and therefore quiet but only around 20 minutes to Kapaa (the back way).
There are a couple of downsides. The morning breakfast is a nice extra but not particularly creative - after a few days it gets old. Eventually we cooked our own breakfast in the room and only went up to grab a half a bagel. They also seem to have gone ape with signage - while the signs are artistically done there are far too many of them, in the rooms and around the property; consequently they detract from the beauty of the place. Most hotels today have done away with the little paper signs all over the place and present all the information in a book, which I would find much more appealing. Finally, while the hired help is reasonably good, we missed the opportunity to talk to the owners and hear their story. The owners seemed to be too occupied with their wedding planning side business to attend to their guests. Except for our visit to the Beatles Museum, Mike or Martina were completely absent for the five nights we were there.


Owner at Kauai Country Inn, responded to this review
December 11, 2012
Aloha and Thank You for the wonderful review of our property. Checking out some of the other reviews of your recent Hawaii trip we see that you rated the Kauai Country Inn highest amongst your lodging reviews - thank you, we are delighted you had a great stay. Because we are a small Inn with just 4 vacation suites we have to keep breakfast simple: we never know how many guests will attend, and because each suite has it's own kitchenette or kitchen many guests like yourselves, chose to prepare their own. Our manager Jeff happily helps guests with planning their daily activities around the island and if guests want to interact with the owners, our door is always open. Over the years we have learned that most guests value their privacy, so we allow guests as much space as they require: some folks enjoy a lot of interaction, while others want to be left alone to enjoy peace and quiet relaxation. At the Kauai Country Inn you can have either, or both.




Review Date: 11/16/12
kerriheffel: “made our honeymoon feel like home”


Let's start at the beginning, due to an error on my part, our flight arrived a day before we were scheduled to check in. We contacted Mike and he explained that our suite was booked and would not be opened until our actual reservation date. He calmed our nerves and got right on the phone. He called another nearby hotel and got us a room for that night at a local rate. We are SO grateful for him! He was happy to help.

The following day, we arrived back at the Kauai Country Inn and were finally able to check into the Plumeria suite. We instantly felt at home. The suite is clean, well furnished, comfortable and fully stocked of toiletries, towels, kitchen supplies and lots of interesting books. The suite is very spacious, complete with full size refrigerator, lots of seating and a huge deck with more seating outside.They also supply coolers, beach towels, beach chairs and boogie boards. Perfectly quiet and serene location. Breakfast provided each morning was a nice touch. We did a couple loads of laundry while we were there, which was a great convenience.

Hurricane Sandy had other plans for us, not allowing us to land back home in Boston for an extra 3 nights, we were forced to make additional plans. We spoke to Jeff and he confirmed with Martina that no one was reserved for our suite for 3 more nights. What a relief! We were able to stay put until we could fly out.

We were terribly sad to leave this amazing paradise. Mike, Martina and Jeff made our stay so comfortable. We thank Jeff for great conversation, tips and local secrets. We cannot wait to come back to Kauai and stay here again.




Review Date: 11/11/12
g63fjb: “Kauai Country Inn- they think of everything!”

Kauai Country Inn had all we needed and more. One example is the grill, where we cooked ourselves a delicious meal. We purchased most of the food from the local farmers market. It was relaxing after a long day out to make our simple meal and be "at home". The other was the computer, which I didn't think I would use but was happy to be able to upload some photos so family could see the beauty of Hawaii that we were experiencing. A couple more small but nice conveniences were the travel mug for coffee, the kitchen supplies and the cooler. They thought of everything!



Review Date: 8/14/12
Mirjam Mol-Arts: “Lovely Plumeria Suite!”


"We stayed four nights at the Kauai Country Inn in the two bedroom Plumeria Suite. Our stay was wonderful. A fully equipped suite with beach towels, body boards, beach chairs, computers in all the bedrooms and wireless internet, fully equipped kitchen and a big deck looking out over a beautiful garden with banana trees and many flowers. We enjoyed our talk with Martina (German, raised close to the Dutch border), Trisha and Jeff who prepared the light breakfast (finally a "normal" breakfast to European standards) who gave is information on "must do's". Kauai is the oldest Hawaiian Island with a beautiful coast and tropical rainforest at the coast and inland. In the mornings it was humid with rain but in the afternoon temperatures were optimal (28 Celsius) with sunshine and a light breeze. During our 3-1/2 week trip along the US West Coast National Parks and two Hawaiian Islands, this was by far the best and most original accommodation we stayed at!"




Review Date: 8/19/12
Hank330: “Truly Unique”

"Over many decades of business/vacation travel, the Kauai Country Inn where we were in mid July of 2012 stands out at the top. The rooms are nice size and the one we chose (Green Rose Suite) is nearly 1,400 sq feet with high ceilings, a large living room and kitchen leading onto a covered porch and furnished with heavy rustic style furniture which I later learned had been made by the owners, Mike and Martina. The family pictures, furnishings (great kitchen-my wife loves to cook even on vacation) and general setup gives one the impression of visiting someone's guest cottage rather than staying in a commercial establishment.
Being off the beach up in the hills means quiet and with the constant breezes through the large louvered windows a constant cool breeze. The night it rained was a simply amazing experience of sound and sensation."






Review Date: 7/7/12
Joan Sherman: “Lovely and peaceful!”


"Our stay at the Kauai Country Inn June 30 - July 4, 2012 was wonderful. The accommodations were beautiful in every way. There were several unexpected and wonderful surprises, along with some extras that we appreciated. We made good use of the free boogie boards, beach chairs, small cooler, grill, and enjoyed that complimentary light breakfast before we set out for our day's activities. Our boys LOVED the jumbo chocolate muffins. And if one of them took "the last" one, another would always reappear. Trisha was so gracious and kind and made us feel so welcome. I highly recommend Kauai Country Inn - a lovely and peaceful place!




Review Date: 7/4/12
Timothy Reinholt: “A truly amazing wedding/honeymoon”
"My wife and I (engaged at the time) booked the Plumeria Suite of the KCI along with the wedding itself through Mike and Martina. To start with, Mike and Martina made it really easy to set things up. They quickly responded to all of our emails and answered all of our questions, making it simple to get everything booked and prepared the way we wanted it.

The suite itself was amazing. The main room of it was huge, very open, good for cooking things up while talking to the people in the room. The bathroom was gargantuan with a stand up shower and a really soothing jacuzzi tub. The bed was so comfortable, both my wife and I picked it because we like a firm bed (advertised on the website). Fans everywhere but no air conditioning kept the room naturally cool and very comfortable. The icing on the cake was the private deck we had outside. Patricia was fantastic, she would set up the breakfasts every morning where my wife and I would wake up purposely for, to talk to Patricia and the other guests (making some new friends that we're going to keep in contact with). Patricia was a treasure trove of information, turning us onto many of the things we did on our trip.

The wedding itself was perfect. Mike was so easy going and willing to work with us on everything we wanted. Everything was just as we wanted. He even took the time out of his day off wedding to call me the day before to make sure we had the leis and bouquets configured properly since I had totally forgotten to finalize one of the details of them. He gave us a couple of options of beaches that he suggested which we scooped out and picked what was best for us. The minister, the ukelele player, and both photographers were all great people.

A few days after the wedding, my wife and I had the privilege of seeing the Beatles museum. It was truly overwhelming what Mike has collected in that museum, and his knowledge and passion for the Beatles.

Unfortunately we never had the pleasure of meeting Martina in person as she was feeling under the weather, but we did have the opportunity to talk to Mike on multiple occasions. He is such a great guy, there's no other way to describe him, we could've talked to him for hours. Precisely what you want in a host. This was our first time to Hawaii and because of MIke and Martina and the KCI, it was literally the perfect wedding and honeymoon. We both want to go back and stay at the KCI again. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else." Photos





Review Date: 6/26/12
Aaron Nelson: "Paradise in Paradise"

"I simply can't adequately express the experience of staying at the Kauai Country Inn, but I'm going to try. It was just amazing. For the cost of a simple hotel room anywhere else on the island we had an 800 square foot apartment in the mountains. My fiance and I stayed in the newly renovated Orchid suite and were blown away by the hospitality, service, cleanliness, and charm. Needless to say, but the end of our trip, my WIFE and I were genuinely sad to leave.

Having our wedding in Kauai was something both my wife and I really wanted, but having it handled by the KCI was something we didn't know we wanted until we had it. Mike was very helpful and professional and the performer, Todd was as well. They picked beautiful locations and took amazing pictures and have been extremely helpful with regards to the wedding licensing and advice. We also enjoyed the personal service of their housekeepers Jeff and Tricia who were there every morning with breakfast laid out and advice or conversation at the ready. Little things like providing a weeks worth of Pepsi instead of champagne really put this little inn over the top. We want to come back so bad and are already dreaming of our next trip.

The Kauai Country Inn may be a little out of the way, but we didn't mind the drive to the beach and town and it really felt like home rather than a small hotel room to crash in. And we loved the peace and quiet. Although the chickens are sure to wake you in the morning! But lets face it, if you are coming to Kauai to escape being wakened by chickens, you are on the wrong island! Mike and Martina, we will be back. We don't know how or when, but we'll be back!" Photos




Review Date: 5/3/12
Maree Eilman: "Paradise's Best B&B".

First of all the owners of the Kauai Country Inn (Martina and Mike) are awesome! They were our wedding planners and our host for the wedding. We stayed at the Kauai Country Inn for our wedding and brought our moms along with us. The accommodations were fabulous; very spacious, clean, breath taking (pretty, handsomely) nicely decorated, and comfortable. Martina and Mike took care of all my wedding jitters and made me feel very comfortable. The wedding was the most beautiful wedding I've ever been to if I might say so myself. We will come back to Kauai and we will come back and stay at the Kauai Country Inn. The landscape of the Kauai Country Inn is breath taking. The property is close to town and close to the beach and other attractions. Be sure to take a helicopter ride because it is spectacular. I would never stay at the Htyatt, Marriott, or any other hotel because they cannot provide you with the luxury that the Kauai Country Inn can. Every morning at the Kauai Country Inn you are given a continential breakfast and there is always someone there to help you with whatever you need. I highly recommend staying at the Kauai Country Inn you will not regret it! Photos





Review Date: 3/11/12
Joe & Ava Black

"We spent our honeymoon at KCI after being married on Lydgate Beach using the Inn's wedding service. The Plumeria Suite was the perfect island getaway for us. If you want a place that is secluded yet self-contained, this is it. The suite had a full kitchen with a large fridge, roomy master suite and a huge bathroom with a jetted tub, separate shower, and double sinks. There is a separate living area with a big screen tv and dvd player as well as tons of dvds. This suite has a large, private, wrap-around deck, perfect for sitting and watching the jungle in the mornings.
Breakfast is simple yet good--pastries, muffins, oatmeal, and the best coffee ever. Staff members Jeff and Tricia gave good advice for local sites and shopping, all well within driving of the inn. Mike Hough (owner) and Jeff were especially helpful our entire stay at KCI.
The northwest and southwest ends of the islands were easily accessible and an hour away. You can see the Spouting Horn, Waimea Canyon, Hanalei Bay, as well as the Coconut Coast, and some neat little towns like Kapaa, and Lihue.
The best shave ice we found was near the cruise ship docks, Anchor Cove. You can't miss it.
Skip the mustang for your car rental; get the Jeep; you won't be sorry. Kauai's roads are decent yet can be hard to navigate after the rains which occur nearly every day on some part of the island.




Review published on tripadvisor.com:
Kauai Country Inn: "Stay Of A Lifetime!"
Reviewer: Mick2222, Nashville, TN

My wife and I stayed at Kauai Country Inn on our first visit to Kauai. We had come accross the Inn through a recommendation in Frommer's. We were pleasantly surprised how nice our stay was. We rented the Plumeria Suite, which we and the staff consider the best suite. It is spacious, beautifully decorated, has a jacuzzi bath tub and balcony, and includes lots of "toys" for the guests including an Apple computer to use with free internet and a special digital photo device, multiple movies and books to watch and read, and games to play such as chess, checkers, monopoly and on and on it goes. The staff is so nice and efficient and helpful. The simple continental breakfast of pastries, oatmeal and coffee is just right for the perfect home setting of the Kauai Country Inn. And what a Beatles "museum" they have to walk down memory lane, as Mike gives you a tour of a lifetime and tells you facts of the Beatles many never knew. Best of all, the price of the stay is outstanding considering all you get and free parking and free fruit to pick from the grounds. The location is a quiet country setting perfect to hear the sounds of mutliple birds, that is centrally located for easy access to each end of Kauai. As we moved to another island and are now staying in a high end resort, we miss our accommodations we had at Kauai Country Inn.




Review published on tripadvisor.com:
Kauai Country Inn: "Super Place To Stay In Kauai"
Reviewer: SunDevil1985, Scottsdale, Arizona

I strongly recommend the Kauai Country Inn to both couples and families. It is one of the best values on the Island and the staff could not be more helpful. The owners are on site and are a great resource for local recommendations (food, sightseeing, fun things to do, etc.). Best of all is the personal tour of a fabulous Beatles museum located on the grounds. If you plan a trip to Kauai and want to be away from the traditional hotel scene, the Kauai Country Inn is the place for you.




Review published on tripadvisor.com:
Kauai Country Inn: "Perfect Getaway"
Reviewer: Mooloolaba, Australia

Its location is away from all the tourist places, it is very private and the rooms are huge! I even had a computer in my room. You basically have all the comfort you need and the staff are very friendly. As a single traveler it was nice to chat to Jeff in the morning during breakfast and he also gave me some good tips on places to go. Great place to stay, loved it!




Review published on tripadvisor.com:
Kauai Country Inn: "Feels Like Home"
Reviewer: Whitebea, Red Deer

Martina, Mike, Jeff and Tricia are such gracious hosts. This was our second time we have stayed in the Plumeria Suite and absolutely loved it. Waking up to the song birds is the most awesome experience that we look forward to. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast in the morning and loved chatting with Jeff. He was kind enough to show us the Green Rose Suite and we are seriously considering booking it for next year. Staying at the Kauai Country Inn is the perfect way to start our vacation. From the minute we arrive, it feels like home. If you are looking for a place where you can unwind, enjoy the sights and sounds of nature and enjoy the utmost of comfort in accommodations, this place is perfect.




Review published on tripadvisor.com:
Kauai Country Inn: "Best Place To Stay In Kauai"
Reviewer: Suzanne Guarino, Memphis, TN


If you are looking for a perfect place to stay on this island paradise, the Kauai Country Inn is for you. The suites are spacious, clean, and very comfortable. We were in the Green Rose Suite for a week and couldn't have been happier. While the inn is not on the beach, it's a short drive to beautiful Lydgate beach. The prices are incredibly reasonable ... and the pictures on their website show the property very well.

I don't know when we will return to Kauai, but we will definitely stay at the Kauai Country Inn again.



Aloha! We wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful time at the Kauai Country Inn while celebrating our fifth wedding anniversary. Thank you for being such friendly and generous hosts, and for being so helpful as we planned our vacation around four of your wonderful accommodations (Green Rose Suite, Orchid Suite, Plumeria Suite, Country Cottage).
The Kauai Country Inn is conveniently located just up the road from the Wailua River and the Opaeka’a Falls. Its central location on the Coconut Coast of Wailua and Kapa’a makes exploring the island a tropical breeze. Most first time visitors to the islands usually stay at the hefty-priced big hotels or condominiums, but the Kauai Country Inn will really give you an idea of what living in Hawaii is like. We’ve visited and even lived in Hawaii many times over the years while working on our travelogues, and this is one of the best inns we’ve ever stayed at! From cleanliness to room presentation from kitchen facilities to computer & internet accessibility from beach gear to their amazing movie collection, the Kauai Country Inn is a top-notch operation. This might be the best value on Kauai so run, don’t walk, to the Kauai Country Inn! Mahalo nui loa and we look forward to visiting the beautiful Garden Isle of Kauai again soon!
Pak So & Anna Tan, New York, NY
Authors of “Paradise: Road to Hana, Maui” HanaInMay.com




Review published on tripadvisor.com:
Kauai Country Inn: "Great Place"
Reviewer: Joanna Schifferle, Stowe, Vermont


My husband and I spent 5 nights at The Kauai Country Inn as part of our honeymoon. We came from The Four Season's on Lanai where we were greatly pampered, so we were expecting to feel a bit of a let down at the Inn. That was not the case at all! It's true that the Kauai Country Inn is not a Four Season's resort, but rather than feeling like we were on a luxery vacation, we felt like we were at home. It was nice to stop shelling out $60 for breakfast and instead wake up to a huge bowl of cereal, some fresh pineapple and a freshly brewed cup of coffee (all prepared by us). And there's nothing like grilling up a good burger at the end of a long day spent hiking. We stayed in the Green Rose Suite, which is 1200 sq ft. The suite was very clean and had an excellent kitchen. Mike and Martina (the Inn's owners) are inredibly gracious hosts that will bend over backwards to be sure you have everything you need. They told us all about the best spots to go on the island that aren't very touristy. If you want to get an insiders connection to the island, you don't mind cooking or staying a bit of a drive away from the beach, you can't find a better place to stay then the Kauai Country Inn. The value is truly outstanding.



Dear Kauai Country Inn, when we arrived I thought I was in a dream. The island is more beautiful then I could have imagined. When we arrived at the Inn, time felt like it stopped. It has been one of the most wonderful, and definitely the most relaxing vacation we have ever had. I only hope "time" won't be too long before we are able to return. Thank you so much for your warmth, laughter, directions and new friendship. Carnie and I will never forget this place, nor such wonderful company.
Donna & Carnie McArthur, Hayden, ID




Review published on tripadvisor.com:
Kauai Country Inn: "Honeymoon Dream"
Reviewer: Stacy & Scott Dennis, North Carolina

We just returned from our honeymoon on Kauai where we stayed at the Kauai Country Inn. The island is very lovely and we enjoyed the slower pace of things as compared with Oahu, where we stay in Waikiki. We will definitely try to make it back to this island in the future and will be staying at Kauai Country Inn.

First of all, Mike and Martina, are the nicest people you will ever meet. We are from North Carolina, so that is saying alot, considering the amiable disposition of our neighbors. I have never been treated so kindly except by family, and that's what Mike and Martina made us feel like. They saw to our every need, were quick to give much needed advice about the island and dinning, and even opened their own house up to us when we unexpectedly and repeatedly dropped by with questions. Mike and Martina will give you the clothes off their back if you forget to pack something and are in need. They are the number one reason to stay here at the inn.

Second, the inn is quaint and laid back. It was decorated and furnished with a very stylish and easy going feel. My wife and I stayed in the cottage adjacent to the inn and were very comfortable. Every room comes with a computer and free internet, courtesy of Mke and Martina. This is great if you have a digital camera and you need to burn pictures to a disc. We used snorkeling gear, also furnished by the inn, to go snorkelling at Tunnels Beach. Wow, what a great place. The grounds are covered with fresh fruit growing from the trees. My wife used the fruit when making breakfast and we also packed some for a snack while hiking up Sleeping Giant, which is located 5 minutes from the inn.
In short, this place is a paradise and Mike and Martina are the type of hosts that you want to keep in touch with. We are busy saving our money so that we can go back again



Thank you for making our stay in Kauai so comfortable.  The Kauai Country Inn is a fabulous find and a great value.  The setting is beautiful and the location is central to everything.  The beauty of Kauai is endless and we hope to return and will definitely stay at your inn again!
Mary & John Davis, Ypsilanti, Michigan




Review published on tripadvisor.com:
Good day rooster (and sunshine)

Waking up in a rainforest happens early the first time you do it. Enjoy the new world that envelops you from 3am, or else bring earplugs.
It is true that the drive here the first time seems "so far" and into the middle of nowhere, but the island is small and really you drive about 12 miles from the Airport to get here. And it's worth it.
We stayed in the Green Rose Suite, which is described as 1 bedroom, 1 bath, which it technically is, but you could easily sleep 6 in this spacious suite. It has a large kitchen area, with a sizeable island for gathering around for breakfast, and a large dining table as well as several sofas, a large deck area, and a jacuzzi right outside.
We missed the Beatles museum cause there is just so much to do on the island, we couldn't fit it all in, but I've heard great things.
A terrific central location for exploring the island, we did treks on all sides of the island while staying here - the main road is only something like 50 miles long in total remember...
Wonderful hosts, a great house in a terrific location.



Hello Jeff! Here we are safely back in Colorado.  It sure feels cold!  Can we come back? Mark and I wanted to send you some pictures. Feel free to use them for your website, etc...It sure was wonderful staying at the Inn and so enjoyable chatting with you when we were there and even getting to see Mike's Beatles museum.  You have marked a special place in our hearts. Take care and mahalo,
Jules & Mark Schultheis, Lafayette, CO


Dear KCI staff, just wanted to thank you once again for the wonderful time we had with you. It was just like being in paradise, and we are still dreaming of what we experienced with you. We are hoping to come back in about 2 years and hopefully you will have us, once again, as your guests.
PS: Regards, especially to Annie!!! (Hallo Martina & Mike, etwas verspätet (der Alltag hat uns wieder) noch zwei Fotos von Euren Gästen aus Deutschland. Es war eine wunderschöne Zeit im Kauai Country Inn, wir haben es sehr genossen und haben viele schöne Erinnerungen mit nach Hause genommen.
Franka Karoh & Dennis Prokop, Wunstorf, Germany




Review published on tripadvisor.com:
Kauai Country Inn: "Fun in Kauai!"
Reviewer: Kate & Mike Maxwell, Arlington, VA

My husband and I recently celebrated our 2nd anniversary with a 10 day trip to Kauai. We stayed at the Kauai Country Inn (in the Yellow Ginger Suite) for the the duration of our trip. The KCI is in Kapa'a, which is a great location because it's really central to everything on the island. It took us about 45 minutes to get to the extremes: Waimea (South) or Princeville (North). Everything else fell somewhere in between, so we thought that it was a great location for our stay. The inn is out in the country a bit, which is cool; we listened to the frogs, insects, and chickens instead of traffic! The Yellow Ginger Suite is very nice; two bedrooms, a bath, a kitchen, and a living room. Mike and Martina (the owners, who are a very friendly and fun pair!) have personal touches all throughout the inn, and they have lots of beach and snorkeling equipment for your use (free!). They also have kayaks for rent. All in all, we were very happy that we chose to stay here, as we saved a ton of money yet really enjoyed the accommodations.

Thanks, Mike and Martina! Hopefully we'll be back again someday!



This was our first trip to Hawaii, we really had no idea what to expect. We chose Kauai after a quick perusal of Frommer's Hawaii 2006 guidebook, my wife actually picked our lodging - based mainly on price, I think - plus the good review in Frommer's. We booked directly on the Internet using the user-friendly website, which allowed us to view and chose our accommodations and to immediately check availability.
We sure were happy with what we found! The Kauai Country Inn really doesn't look like an Inn at all. It looks, and feels, like an old friend's country house which just happens to be nestled in a tropical rainforest near the end of a country road. There's little to suggest an Inn when you drive up - I don't think there's even a sign. Basically, you look for number 6440 as you drive up into the hills on the Olohena Road (Rte 581) - which you've hopefully located using the excellent directions provided by hosts Mike and Martina Hough (pronounced "How"). It's a 20-minute drive over from the airport in Lihue. We found their location near the town of Kapa'a to be nicely centered between the attractions on the north and south sides of the island.
On Jan 4, 2006 - after an 18-hr trip from New Hampshire - we arrived well after dark. The Christmas lights were ablaze, and we found a welcoming envelope on our door with complete instructions - a most painless way to "check in" after a long day. We happily slid into bed ten minutes later!
The next day we met the staff (Jeff the manager & Tricia the house keeper), and dog Annie. Did I mention, this place really felt like home? No point in going into a long description of the rooms, you can see them on the website. Suffice it to say, we stayed in the Yellow Ginger Suite and we loved it.
Nancy & Henry Clews, Hanover, NH




Review published on tripadvisor.com:
Kauai Country Inn:
"A Gem - You'll kick yourself for staying anywhere else!"
Reviewer: Sandra Alboum, Arlington, VA

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at this Inn in Kapa'a. We were in the Orchid Suite, a "steal" at $95/night. It has a separate bedroom (with computer and internet connection!), a small kitchen with microwave, hotplate, coffee maker, toaster, sink, and table, and a bathroom. Outside is a lovely lanai (deck) with full sized grill, table, hammock, and rocking chair.
The inn is surrounded by fruit trees. Don't miss the starfruit. It's better than anything you'll ever get in a grocery store! (And it's free.) Try grilling it. Yummy.

The KCI staff, Jeff and Patricia are great hosts -- attentive, but in no way overbearing -- and the accommodations were clean and tastefully decorated. The inn is located about 10-15 minutes inland, around 20 minutes from the airport, and no more than an hour or so from anything you would ever want to see. It's VERY central.

We will definitely be staying here again when we're back in Kauai, which we hope will be soon. This place is a real gem.
(P.S. Don't miss their Beatles museum!)



My wife and I stayed in the Green Rose Suite for 8 days and it was exceptionally pleasant. The Kauai Country Inn was a perfect compliment to our daily adventures. When my wife and I had finished kayaking, snorkeling, or jogging, it was a pleasure to return to a peaceful and spacious suite. In the mornings we heard various birds and on several evenings, I took advantage of the kitchen to make a few meals which included grilling Ahi tuna on the outside grill. We really couldn't ask for anything more. Thank You Martina and Mike for a great experience!
Jerry Johnson & Judy Yang, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania


Thank you for your warm & peaceful Inn, we had a great honeymoon and wonderful time on this beautiful island. We will carry fond memories home with us, alas our time has run out. All the comforts of home in such a beautiful setting, everything we had hoped for. Mahalo until we meet again...
John & Marilyn Sweeten, Boerne, TX


Can we come back yet? We are already missing Kauai, but we have a lot of great memories to look back on. Your Inn is so beautiful and relaxing, it's definitely the best place to stay on the whole island. It gave us a chance to experience how the locals live and we will be back! All the little extras in the suite were fun too.
Randy & Heather Anderson, Millville, UT


Liebe Martina, Mike und Johannes! Vielen, vielen Dank für den traumhaft schönen Urlaub den Ihr uns bereitet habt!!! Das Paradies auf Erden hat einen Namen: "Kauai Country Inn". Wir werden Euch auf jeden Fall weiter empfehlen! Bis zum nächsten mal!
Marga & Paul Mundfortz, Amern, Germany



Review published on tripadvisor.com:

A True Gem
Reviewer: Wendy & Bruce, Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

We just returned from our two week vacation on Kauai where we spent our first three nights at the Kauai Country Inn in the Plumeria Suite. This was our 9th visit to the island and we wish we had found this place sooner. The peace and quiet were just what we needed to unwind from our hectic lives and start enjoying our vacation The suite was fabulous, beautifully decorated and had a wrap-around porch where we could sit and enjoy our coffee in the morning and listen to birds of all types. We had arrived in the evening so finding the place was a bit of a challenge for us as it is very dark, but the directions were clear and easy to follow. Waking up the next morning was a breath-taking experience which we will never forget and too difficult to put into words. You have to experience the place for yourself. We plan on making this a regular stop on our annual vacation to Kauai and can't wait to be there again next year.
Wendy & Bruce
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada



As regular visitors to Kauai, we were looking for a peaceful, quiet, and relaxing place to stay this time. We found it at the Kauai Country Inn! We enjoyed our stay in this suite, as well as the Plumeria Suite. Thank your for providing such great accommodations that make us feel like this is our Kauai "home". Hope to see you soon on our next visit(s)!
Ferne Glaser & John Bacon, Mississauga, Toronto, Canada


What a treasure! Your website with your Inn photos, family history and guest comments brought us here. Our only problem was that we had a hard time leaving in the morning to see the rest of Kauai. And what a nice place to come back to! Thanks for sharing your beautiful Inn with us. We loved staying here - the quiet, the rain and sunshine, the animals - everything! With best wishes,
Steve & Carol Carter, Fairway, KS


We had a lovely time during our stay in your Yellow Ginger Suite in early November 2005. The accomodations were even better than the online advertisement. You had thought of everything to make us feel comfortable and at home.  The location was perfect and we appreciate the answers to all of our questions regarding activities; you were so very helpful. We will certainly recommend your inn to friends who might be coming to Kauai.  Thanks again for adding to the pleasure of our wonderful 30th wedding anniversary vacation.
Barb & Ken Kemp, Katy, Texas




Review published on tripadvisor.com:
Kauai Country Inn:
"Amazing Hospitality, Beauty and Value in the Countryside of the Garden Island"
Reviewer:  chaswinters@sbcglobal.net, Kansas City, MO

 My wife and I went on our delayed honeymoon to Hawaii on Christmas 2004. After a few problems in Oahu including lost luggage, bad luau experience and heavy extra expenses we arrived dirty and tired at Lihue on the 27th. We proceeded to explore the Garden Island hoping that (1) our inn would be as good as we expected, and (2) that we would get clothing and relaxation and comfort soon. Our flight from LAX had been turbulent and the weather both on Oahu and Kauai had been much less than ideal.

After a lovely drive along the north shore we spent a few hours at Ke'e Beach. Though it was still cloudy it was warm and the beach was lovely. At 2pm we left for our inn which was about an hour to the southeast just outside Kapa'a. The lovely island was bathed in sunshine while it rained south of Kilauea and we saw a full rainbow, something fairly rare where we live. We passed Opeka'a Falls on route 580 and about 10 minutes later arrived at Kauai Country Inn.

The owners, Mike and Martina Hough, are lovely hosts and the staff, Jeff and Patricia offer a wealth of information. The suite was spacious, artistically decorated and comfortable. What excited me from the beginning was that I could stay on Kauai in some level of comfort for a reasonable price. What really happened was even better.

For $110/night I got a spacious 900 sf. suite with a terrific bathroom in one of the most expensive places on Earth. Most trip planners would have you stay in Po'ipu or Princeville or Hanalei when going to Kaua'i. I disagree with this since it forces you to stay far from one side of the island or the other. Kapa'a is exactly halfway to everything. Nothing is terribly far. If you stay in Princeville you are three hours from Waimea Canyon. If you stay in Po'ipu you are two hours from Ke'e or Hanalei. The great resorts of Kaua'i look wonderful, certainly, but I can't imagine staying anywhere other than the Hough's wonderful oasis of charm in the hills west of Kapa'a.

The suites each contain a good Macintosh computer with DSL connection so you can write e-mails and IMs with kids or friends back home. This is a great touch. (For you workaholics out there, you can also work - sheesh!). The place is so well kept you could eat off the shining hardwood floors. Mike, Martina, Jeff and Tricia do everything they can to make you feel at home.

I really can't say enough nice things about the Kaua'i Country Inn.

Charles Winters, in Kansas City, MO



We have just returned from watching the sunset on Kekaha Beach - a heavenly way to bring our vacation to a close. We snorkeled off the Na Pali Coast, took a dip in Queen's Bath, and drank in the views at Waimea Canyon & Kalalau Lookout. How nice it was to have a beautiful and gracious place to come home to! We loved the openness and comfort of the Green Rose Suite. The location of your Inn allowed us to navigate easily to both the North & South beaches. Thank you for your help online in the weeks that lead up to our visit & when we arrived in person. We will look back at our week here with great affection - especially when shoveling snow from our driveway this winter! Fondest Aloha,
Mary, Peter, Alice & David DuBois, Rochester, NY


The rumors are true! Kauai is paradise on earth! But the Kauai Country Inn tops it all! Jeff and Tricia, thank you for all the great tips and tricks - how to get around, restaurants, hiking and beaches. We hope to make our way back soon.
John & Claudine Glett, Diesse, Switzerland


Thank you so much for your warm and gracious hospitality. Our three days here were definitely too few. We are already making plans for our next trip to Kauai which include staying here for the duration of the trip. The Green Rose Suite was a beautiful and spacious place to sprawl out and relax. We greatly appreciated all of your suggestions for dining and activities, and the special touches around the suite. The fresh fruit from your garden was a wonderful addition to our breakfasts. (Try the starfruit grilled with a little brown sugar!) Thanks again for making our honeymoon so romantic, relaxing, and memorable.
Erikka & Simon Santiago, Boston, MA



Review published on tripadvisor.com:

Lovely Kauai Country Inn - we miss you!
Chicago, IL

We stayed in the Green Rose Suite from April 18 - 22 and had a fantastic time. The suite is gigantic and very well decorated...tons of personal touches everywhere. We loved falling asleep in total quiet and being woken up early by the roosters. We found the location of the inn to be perfect - about halfway between the north and south coasts, and the east coast was a quick 10 minute drive away. In addition to vacation, we came to Kauai and the Kauai Country Inn to get married. Mike and Martina also run Kauai Island Weddings. We were married on Lydgate Beach on April 21, with Mike officiating, and Martina and Johannes (their son), doing the photography. We were so unbelievably thrilled with how Mike, Martina, and Johannes conducted our wedding. The ceremony was beautiful and personal, and the photos were absolutely stunning (and given to us on DVD by the next morning!). Would could not have been happier with Kauai Country Inn and Kauai Island Weddings.



Thanks for our "home away from home in Kauai". We enjoyed all your recommendations for restaurants, especially the Olympic Cafe and Coconuts! We also enjoyed grilling our fresh fish from the Fish Express. It was so wonderful to have "Blockbuster Video" on the premises. We appreciated your hospitality and your warm welcome and truly enjoyed our honeymoon at the Kauai Country Inn.
John Thomas & Emily Miller, Somerville, MA


We absolutely loved our stay! After a long day hiking in the Waimea Canyon coming back to our suite was pure luxury! Thanks for helping us find our way around town - we found everything you told us about. It's amazing that we can get everything we want in town so easily, yet still feel like we are in our own private mountain retreat. The only thing we would change is that next time we would stay longer.
Lisa Kelly, Pleasanton, CA


Thank you very much for being so welcoming. We had a wonderful time at the Kauai Country Inn - it is a beautiful guest house and we would recommend it to anyone coming to Kauai. Thank you for all your very helpful local tips too.
Gavin & Tara Lamont, New York, NY


Thank you for your kind hospitality. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the lovely Orchid Suite. The Inn is beautiful and the suite is well stocked for a comfortable stay. We loved exploring Kauai and then coming "home" to the Inn.
Aruni & Frank Pierluissi, Brooklyn, NY


We are so happy we spend a beautiful week in the "Heart of the Earth", like Hawaiians like to call Kauai. We enjoyed smells of tropical forests, the charming landscape and our baths in the ocean. All this will remain in our hearts forever, and it will keep us warm during our winter months here in Europe. Ciao, Ciao!
Maria Avelia & Giorgio Villa, Milano, Italy



Review published on tripadvisor.com:

A Great Find
Calgary, Canada

We stayed in the Green Rose suite and loved it. The staff are warm friendly people and try hard to make your visit pleasurable. If we needed something the maid was there in the mornings early and she was very quick to get you anything you needed. We were there 2 weeks and had a well equipped kitchen with lots of counter space. The suite is spacious with a huge bedroom, living and dining. It was clean with lots of home like touches. It was like staying in someones home with old family pictures, books you can read, games. We found it very quiet (also at night). Some complaints were about noise at night. You would find the same at any hotel be it 5 star also. It's part of traveling.
There are laundry facilities with detergent supplied. There is no air conditioning but found the several fans sufficient. There is a BBQ on the Lanai and we did use it. We did have to burn some stuff off first but Hey we do that at home too. As for location we didn't mind the drive, we rented a convertable and drove with the hood down. We enjoyed the scenery. It is a bit of a drive to the beach. Lydgate Park was awesome and a 10 minute drive. Oh yes and to mention one more thing. Yes there are geckos and they do get into the rooms sometimes. I really kind of enjoyed them they are harmless and you will hear them chirping at night. If you want a sterlized 5 star you can go stay at the Hyatt and pay 3 times of much. This is the tropics, don't expect things to be like on the mainland.
I guess when you come down to it our likes were:
-quiet and clean
-homey
-good value
-friendly hosts
-beautiful grounds



What a wonderful experience staying here has been! We really enjoyed our time in such a secluded country home. It was the perfect place to stay while on our honeymoon. The Inn is far enough away from all the usual hustle & bustle, yet still close enough to join right in. The suite and its amenities made us feel comfortable and at home while on the island. We definitely plan on returning in the future - perhaps our anniversary.
Jennifer McDonough & Marcus Paredes, Whittier, CA


We got married on the 10th of July at the "Lago Maggiore", a beautiful lake in Italy and we continued our dream with a wonderful journey through the U.S. When we arrived in Kauai we were amazed at such an exuberant display of nature. It was a surprise to find a wonderful house in the countryside and so warm a welcome. Ciao from your favorite Italian guests,
Francesca & Daniele Lagostina, Milan, Italy


We loved the Orchid Suite, the Starfruit & Guava trees, the Coconut wind chimes, the hammocks, the sprawling landscape, and the funny geckos. Thanks for everything. Mahalo!
Janet & Anthony Quan, Alhambra, CA


We truly enjoyed our stay here at the Kauai Country Inn. The suite was so beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable - we felt completely at home. Your warm welcome, advice, tour (and fresh oranges from your tree) were greatly appreciated. Kauai is a beautiful place and after our first visit we have decided that we will definitely be back.
Matt Sweda & Sarah Tao, Boston, MA



Review published on tripadvisor.com:

Just What We Wanted
SE, Alaska

My wife and I just returned from our trip to Kauai, and our wonderful stay at Kauai Country Inn. We went to the island primarily to hike the Kalalau trail, and so had only booked a suite at Kauai Country Inn for the second half of our trip. Upon arrival and getting our rental car, we searched for a hotel for the first night before departing on our hike, and found most of the hotel rooms were going for $100-$130. Not suites. rooms. "Wow!" we thought, "That's basically what we will be paying per night for the Yellow Ginger suite later in the week!" That initial, seedy-hotel room experience, however, would not even be comparable to the gem Kauai Country Inn really is.

The Kauai Country Inn is set nicely off the main road in a pleasantly quiet setting. (About 10 minutes or so from the town proper of Kapa'a.) We were looking for a relaxing place to stay after busy, filled days of sightseeing, snorkeling, etc - Far enough off the beaten path but not inconveniently so. Kauai Country Inn was definitely it.

Our first impression when we arrived at the Yellow Ginger Suite was that we had a large living space + bedroom + bath, fully furnished, Cable TV and a computer set up with high speed internet. All that, I say again - for about the same price as our one room, blue shag carpet hotel room nightmare earlier in the trip. As for the TV, we didn't necessarily want to spend too much of our vacation watching TV or internet surfing, but hey - it was there when we did. :) The computer was a nice touch because we could look into local attractions and their costs, etc, online in the evenings without wasting valuable time searching on foot or driving around the island. Also, the staff provide you with recommendations on things like restaurants, and they offer kayak rentals, free use of boogie boards, beach towels, and most anything else you may need on a trip to Kauai.

We had guests around us in the other suites while we were there, and we wondered if that would take away from the experience, but we scarcely knew anyone else was there. We woke up to and fell asleep to the sounds of the tropics, not the sounds of neighbors.

I can't think of anything that was missing, even though I had to click 'NO' on some of the amenities in TripAdvisor. And as for a fitness center, it's right outside - kayaking, backpacking, hiking, swimming, the list goes on... Sure, there wasn't a pool, but we are people that think swimming in a pool is kind of ridiculous when you've got, say, the PACIFIC OCEAN. (it's even heated) :)

All in all, we will be recommending Kauai Country Inn whenever we have the chance. When we go back to Kauai, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.



Wow! Thank you all so much, our stay here was amazingly perfect! Your units were immaculate and your hospitality so friendly and warm. The suites are fun and interesting, making each night's stay enjoyable. My dad and I want to thank you for all your help and all your smiles.
Your friends, Megan & Steve Mori, Santa Barbara, CA


Thanks so much for such a wonderful stay at your home (Paradise!). Everything was perfect and you both are the best! We look forward to a return trip soon. We now have friends in Kauai!
Mark & Perla Mueller, Miramar, FL


Thanks, once again for a wonderful stay! We hope to make this vacation to Kauai an annual event. We just love it here. For the adventurous guest: try kayaking the Na Pali Coast - 17 miles/6 hours - great views and great workout! Thanks again for the hospitality - you have gone above and beyond.
Hope to see you soon, your friends, Jason & Dawn Gurr, Columbus, OH



Review published on tripadvisor.com:

Great Place to Stay in Kauai
Germantown, WI

I want to sing the praises of the Kauai Country Inn. My boyfriend and I and two of our friends stayed there from Feb 8th thru Feb 11th. They are located in Kapaa up in the hills. Our accommodations were wonderful. We rented the Plumeria Suite. The living room is spacious with two comfy chairs and a futon which would enable an extra person to sleep comfortably. There is a huge covered porch with a gas grill and plenty of seating. FREE laundry facilities for the guests. The bathroom in our suite was about the size of one of my bedrooms at home. It included soap, shampoo, conditioner, and plenty of supplies in the medicine cabinets. It also had a Jacuzzi tub. There are 4 suites availableand the grounds are beautiful with fruit trees.



Thank you very much for your warm hospitality. Kauai was a unique experience for us: the landscape, the beaches, golf, hang-gliding and most of all the stay at your beautiful Inn. We will be back for sure. In the mean time we'll remember you looking at Kiyo's statues.
Edmund, Regine & Teresa Brunner, Munich, Germany


Dale and I so much enjoyed your absolutely gorgeous place and your very kind and fun company. Your hospitality was the best ever! Mahalo for a wonderful stay!
Becky & Dale Clowers, Round Rock, TX


Thank you for "adopting" me for my "dream come true"! I enjoyed my "home away from home". Your warmth & friendliness made my stay lovely and memorable. Love, hugs & prayers,
Aileen Campbell, Santa Barbara, CA


Thank you so much for a great stay. We really enjoyed your hospitality & thought all your recommendations were great. We had a fantastic time in Kauai.
Louise, Gwilyn & Ollie Hunt, Sydney, Australia


Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. Wish we could stay longer - I don't want to leave. Today is our 20th wedding anniversary and I couldn't think of a nicer place to be. Beautiful energy here! Till we meet again. Many Blessings!
David & Kathy Rezenoff, B.C. Canada


Oh! How we loved staying here! It truly was the highlight of our trip. The suite was lovely, clean and comfortable. We hope to come again and stay longer."
Meriam & John Smilley, Denver, CO



Review published on tripadvisor.com:

Yellow Ginger Suite- Relieved and Happy.
Chicago, IL

There is one highway road that circles the whole island. In Kapaa, you head towards the middle of the island and work your way in towards Kauai Country Inn. This is a 12 minute drive in and the first time we did it from the airport we were freaking out. I thought " my god, how far is it ". By the end of the week, not only did we love our suite but we didn't even notice the length of the drive anymore. I don't think we would stay anywhere else. It is smack in the middle of everything. Nothing is ever more than 45 minutes away. Perfect. People in Princeville and Hanalei are at least an hour and a half away from the southwest corner of the island. Not good if your planning a morning excursion from the marinas there. Okay, so location was awesome.

Yellow Ginger suite was great too. In-room computer let us check and search things we wanted to go and do on the island. Really convenient. The bedroom came with fluffy robes, slippers, laundry baskets and tons and tons of kauai travel books and maps. The TV had a ton of channels with a basket of free dvds on top. Nice touch. The couch was comfy for chilling after a long day too.

A great surprise was the bathroom. I ran out of sunblock by the second day and I found a ton of lotions and blocks under the sink. That was really nice. I think a lot of it is left from past travelers, but still nice nonetheless. Lots of clean towels and beach towels to take during the day.

The front porch is where you pick up your boogie boards, floaties, beach chairs etc. They didn't seem to be a ton of snorkel gear but we brought our own anyway. Glad we did because there wasn't enough for us. I think another suite had stocked up and left us with slim pickings. There was no beach umbrella but we bought one and left it there so theres one now.

There is laundry but its from 9-6. We missed it everyday because we were never home. Wish it had some extended hours but no biggie. Anyway- really enjoyed our stay, you will too.



Of all the places we stayed on Kauai yours was the best. The setting, the facilities and above all, your friendliness made our days here some of the best we've had. (I always have a good time if I can get my hands on a chain saw.) Thanks for the wood and everything you did for us."
Louis & Dianne Rapp, Dansville, NY


We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hospitality was outstanding. We only hope the rest of our stay in Hawaii will have the same warmth & feel of home. We hope to visit very soon again."
Trena Sloan, Tucson, AZ


We really enjoyed our stay with you. Thanks for all the good advice and activities you suggested. Wish we could have stayed longer. See you again here in your beautiful Inn.
Christian & Tanja Blaas, Stuttgart, Germany


Thank you both for sharing your plans and dreams with us and for the excellent advice. We loved the Orchid Suite and wish we could grow starfruit in Canada. Thank you again for making us feel so welcome."
Barb & Phil Thomas, Creston, B.C. Canada


We enjoyed your hospitality and truly had a great stay. Looking forward to being neighbors very soon! Thanks so much."
David & Colette Baldwin, Orange Country, CA


Thank you very much for making this a Hawaiian vacation we could afford to do. The wonderful guidebook you placed in our suite really helped us find all the things we wanted to see. You have a very lovely place here and our accommodation could not have been finer. We enjoyed your company and your wisdom."
Paul Spata & Susan London, East Lansing, MI



Review published on tripadvisor.com:

Fabulous and Relaxing
Winnipeg, Manitoba

This was our first trip to Kauai to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Booking the stay was easy on the inn's website which was informative and accurate. The posted pictures only hinted at how good the place actually is. I chose this place as Frommers gave it a great rating for quality and value.
The drive from Lihue airport takes 15 to 20 minutes and is a truly beautiful scenic route up a mountain and past a spectacular waterfall. Check in was simple (no waiting in line) and feels like entering your new domicile for the first time.

Our first 5 nights were in the Plumeria suite and the final 2 were in the Green Rose. Both suites were spectacular! Decorations were reflective of Hawaii, Beatles and family. Both bedrooms are large including the beds which were very comfortable. Plumeria has tons of shelving/dresser space for storing items and displaying many interesting books and homey knick knacks. Apple computer are in the rooms with free internet service.

The kitchen is full service with gas range (awesome) and a great fridge. This really helps control your food budget by allowing you to cook or eat your leftovers (BBQ also available).
In Plumeria bathroom is huge with a jetted tub and hilarious grass skirts on the double sink bases.
Living area is very cozy with a large LCD TV that gives tons of channels. There is a massive and up to date DVD library in the hosts' house that you are welcome to explore.
Green Rose has a smaller TV. Jeff and Tricia are friendly, gracious hosts that were alot of fun to converse with. They generally leave you to oneself but are very attentive and responsive to your questions and needs. Mike gives an amazing tour of his Beatles museum (phone him for a booking in advance) which is a guests only privilege. Everyone who listens to any Rock music should experience this tour.
Location is very central for the island and close to shopping and restaurants.
Contrary to the unhappy experience of a recent reviewer in the Plumeria suite, we felt the privacy was fine (trees block the view from the host house and cottage to the Plumeria suite) and the only noise problem was from the island's ubiquitous roosters (which I surprisingly learned to tune out).

We have experienced many B+B's or similar lodgings as well as many hotels ($100-$250/night range) and can sincerely say that KCI and its owners have reset the bar for us. We definitely want to return to this charming inn and hosts.



What a peaceful, welcoming place you have made here. Our suite was lovely, comfortable, and we felt at home. Thank you for your extra effort to arrange for the flowers from our friends as well as the goodies you left for us to share. The island is beautiful and there is so much left for us to see & do that, god willing, we'll be back to visit you and explore new places."
Ted & Sandra Bowes, Redding, CA


We loved the suite - the computer was a blessing! Very spacious and comfortable. And the hospitality was most welcome. With much Aloha, Mahalo Nui Loa,"
Burt & Melanie Anderson, Ocean View, Big Island, HI


Thank you for your hospitality and warm welcome. Our week here has been filled with wonderful adventures & your tiny island truly holds many treasures. Your genuineness & willingness to help at every turn made the experience all the more memorable. Thank you for allowing us to share your favorite place to live."
Kym Smart and Ed & Vickie Eberle, Australia - Mesa, AZ - Buena Vista, CO


Michael and I feel we lucked out finding this place. For our first trip to this island we had everything we needed, including good advice. Mike & Martina, your place is fantastic. We really hope to return to see it again soon."
Veronica Kanno & Michael Evans, San Francisco, CA


Happy New Year! ...and what a wonderful way to ring in 2004 - being here in paradise. We've had a great time here in Kauai - enjoying many of the island traditions and also some secret hideaways. Thanks! to Mike & Martina for all the inside information - but mostly for their hospitality. It's comforting to know there are still genuine people in this crazy world we live in. Thank you for our break from reality."
Dawn & Jason Gurr, Columbus, OH



Review published on tripadvisor.com:

Charming, Clean & Comfortable
St. Louis, Montana

We stayed five days in the Green Rose Suite. Although there were other guests at the Inn, we felt we were there by ourselves, and enjoyed the privacy. Green Rose is spacious, and has a well-equipped kitchen.

We mostly ate breakfast there, and I cooked a couple of times. There are markets in nearby Kapaa, as well as some good restaurants. The bed was comfortable, and we appreciated the comforter on chilly nights.

Everyone was friendly & the parishioners at St. Catherine's church gave us beaded leis, and we met some people there who gave us helpful tips.

I didn't see a single ant or roach, and was disappointed not to see any geckoes. The grounds were lovely. If we had it to do over again, we'd probably book later in March or in April. It rained every single day, several times a day. However, we didn't let that spoil our stay. We appreciated the complimentary guest laundry, and the parking, which was practically at the front door.

This is an Inn, not a resort, so don't look for fancy gels, lotions, and other high-end amenities. There was a nice big bar of soap in the shower, along with large pump bottles of shampoo and conditioner. We had everything we needed, even beach towels.

We loved the sounds of the birds singing. We didn't know about the chicken and rooster population. They literally have free range of the entire island. They didn't bother me - they blend in and add to the charm. My husband is a light sleeper, and the roosters start crowing at 3:15 AM.

We consider Kauaii Country Inn a lovely place to stay while on Kauaii - not that far from the airport or anything else, it's a good value.



Today is the Winter Solstice - but being here you wouldn't know its the shortest day of the year. I would give all that I have to live in a place like this - heaven on earth. Mike and Martina, you truly have a jewel here on the island of Kauai. God willing we will be back again & again."
Doug, Ann & Matt King, Yucaipa, CA


We had a great time at your place. We will be back. Thanks for all your local inside information. What a great and relaxing setting."
Mike & Nicole Sayers, Tucson, AZ


We had a lovely time in our suite. Thank you for your hospitality; all your advice and suggestions. We enjoyed touring the Inn and your property."
Marie & Hooman Rabieh, San Francisco, CA


Everyone knows what to expect when they stay at a big hotel but choosing a bed & breakfast can be scary... Needless to say we made the right choice with the Kauai Country Inn! You guys are great hosts and the property is impeccable and has a lot of charm. I am especially appreciative for the insider info on where to eat and how to find the golf courses only the locals seem to know about. Thanks again. We'll be back!"
Sammy & Jacki James, San Diego, CA


Mike & Martina, we want to thank you for making our stay in Paradise so wonderful, we're going to tell all our friends in Hamburg that this is the place to stay when you visit Kauai. Danke!
Timo Kauer, Hamburg, Germany


Aloha Mike and Martina! We truly enjoyed our stay here at the Kauai Country Inn. This has been our first (of many, hopefully!) trip to the island, but your place and presents have made us feel welcomed and at home. It was very pleasant to meet you and burn the midnight oil over great conversation. Thanks again!
Doug & Melissa Thomas, Sanat Clara, CA



Review published on tripadvisor.com:

Gorgeous Little Country Gem
Los Angeles, California

You know that feeling of dread you get when you're about to drive up to a place that you booked online, and you know it can't really be as good as the website made it look? Well, the Kauai Country Inn is every bit as good and a whole lot better than we were expecting. My husband and I stayed in the Green Rose Suite, which was big enough for a whole family, very nicely decorated and included every amenity we could want. They provide beach towels, boogie boards, laundry, a full kitchen, chess, wireless internet, an in-suite Mac computer... we could have happily lounged in our suite for the three days we stayed there. But, they also provide a couple of excellent Kauai guide books that helped us find activities and sights we would never have found without them. Mike and Martina were laid back, friendly, and welcoming, with lots of advice for us. Just bring earplugs if you want to sleep in. The Inn is in the rainforest, absolutely teeming with beautiful (but noisy) songbirds.



What a hoot to be at home in America and having one foot in Paradise! Your home is beautiful and just far enough from the crush of tourists to be genuinely relaxing. When we return to our home in New England, we will remove our shoes Hawaiian Style, before entering the house (except maybe in the winter). Vielen Dank!
Don & Pat Daley, Fairfield, CT


It is wonderful to know we'll have such nice new neighbors. Thank you for having us here and all your great advice!
Ashley & Craig Osler, Woodland Hills, CA


What a wonderful house. Thank you so much for having us to your home. This was such a fabulous visit. We started out saying "I can't believe we are here" and no we keep saying "I want to come back". Thanks as well for all the recommendations for the right beaches and best restaurants. You have helped make this trip our trip of a Lifetime. Thank you - we'll see you again!
Scott & Angela Gorrell, Pearland, TX Picture


Difficult to express our feelings finding a fellow "Brummie" out in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. Has everything you need, everything you ever wished for, and a couple you would want to stay friends with. And that's only after one day. The house is wonderful, the two of you are wonderful - could not have wished or got any better. Pat and I enjoyed our stay thanks to your hospitality and friendship. Take care, we'll be back!
Pat & Roger Jones, Birmingham, England


Dear Uncle Mike and Auntie Martina, Your generous and warm spirit, and wonderful home, gave me a calm respite from my usually hectic world. Finding you was no happenstance - Thank you for everything!
Linda Smith & Alex, Denver, CO



Review published on tripadvisor.com:

Ideal Kauai
Montreal, Quebec

The Kauai Country Inn is an absolute gem, and a fantastic find.
My wife and I went to Kauai for our honeymoon, and stayed at three separate properties. Our longest stay was at the KCI in the Yellow Ginger Suite. We arrived at the hotel as Mike and Martina (the owners) were on their first vacation in many years, and as such we did not meet them immediately. We were given the keys by a staff member who explained the property and its amenities to us. We settled in and never once had a problem.

As for the suite itself, it's quite nice, and very spacious for two people. It was clean and well taken care of. The place is decorated with homey touches, and you do feel in many ways like you're staying in a B and B (or someone's home). If this isn't your thing, take note. We had free TV and free internet. The suite more than met our needs, and the price was fantastic. That being said, I saw the green rose suite towards the end of our stay, and it looked fantastic (it has a full kitchen, and I love to cook).

The grounds are beautiful but simple (don't expect the Grand Hyatt in Poipu). There are a number of small fruit trees that may or may not be in season, and you are welcome to the fruit. We picked starfruit at the front of the property, and it was lovely.

Overall, the hotel was beautiful, private, and extremely relaxing. This is precisely what we wanted, and I would not hesitate to return. While I would whole-heartedly recommend this property, this does come with some caveats, which I'll list below:

The KCI is not a luxury resort, and you should not expect the same service or amenities. This is definitely more for the laid back crowd.

Each suite is different, and you should not base your decision to stay entirely on a suite you are not using. That being said, there is an excellent overall commitment to quality.
This is Kauai. It's tropical, it's hot, and it's packed with bugs and birds (actually, if you've ever been to other tropical locations, you'll note that the Hawaiian Islands are far less buggy than other places), and you have to either accept this or go somewhere else. There are always geckos at the front door, as well as many different (often large) insects. KCI does not use pesticides to reduce their insect levels (which we applaud), and the geckos and anoles do a great job of keeping them in check. We never saw any insect larger than an ant inside the property (though beware, the ants will find ANY food you leave out. We awoke one morning to a large convoy of tiny ants heading to and from the sugary leftovers on a pop can rim). Yes, the roosters will crow early in the morning, but you're not going to get away from that anywhere on Kauai. Yes, there are very large spiders (outside), however they are completely harmless. Ultimately, going to the KCI will make you feel more like you've got a little home on Kauai, and not just a hotel. If you prefer a slightly more sanitized version of Hawaii (and that's ok, many do), I would recommend a beachside hotel.

Kauai is a hauntingly beautiful place, and if you really want to see it, I would wholeheartedly recommend the Kauai Country Inn as your base of operations.

Oh, and let's not forget Annie the dog. She's a very sweet bonus.



Thanks for the lovely time! We couldn't have been more pleased. You have a nice camera. Good luck in the design world. The neoclassical revolution is on the verge. Thanks again!
Joseph (the purist) & Kari Balchunas, Austell, GA


Our stay in the Orchid Suite was too short! This place is homier and more charming then the resort we stayed in earlier. Thanks for the genuine hospitality and tips for enjoying our stay. Hope to be back soon.
Johnna & Jim Boxley, Spokane, WA


I am so glad that when I "googled" accommodations in Kauai, that I kept going past the oceanside resorts and found this gem in the jungle. I bet the poor people of Poipu don't awaken to the call of birds and the chirping of geckos! Judy and I have had a wonderful time. Thank you for the dining tips and other helpful advice.
George & Judy Chaffee, Spicewood, TX


Jeff, Thank you for making this the holiday of a lifetime. The Inn is wonderful, the people simply marvelous and the island truly magical. We hope to be able to visit again. Thank you so much, love to you both,
Bob Hough & Eunice Rose, Birmingham, England


This Inn is amazing! Thank you Tricia & Jeff for making this feel as though we were at home. We thoroughly enjoyed the majesty of Kauai, and every evening when we returned "home", we felt just that - as if we were at home! We will definitely return as Kauai is one of our favorite islands and now we have a favorite place to stay - the only place to stay!
Tracie & Bill Becker, Eagle, ID


Thank you so much for your warm hospitality & in depth knowledge of all things relating to this awe inspiring island. The Inn has provided a perfect, tranquil setting for our honeymoon which will live with us forever. This truly is a home away from home. Thanks again for everything!
Ian & Hannah Guntrip, Oswestry, England



Review published on tripadvisor.com:

The Real Hawaii
Dallas, TX

For the comforts of home away from home, plus the exotic nature of staying in a tropical rain forest, I would absolutely recommend the Kauai Country Inn. We spent one night in the Orchid room, and four in the Plumeria suite. After twenty plus years of vacationing, this one was the best and most relaxing.

To start with, the rooms come with the absolute best in-room coffee I've had anywhere. The fresh fruit you can pick at your pleasure is equally delightful. After spending several years of my youth in Hawaii, then moving back to the mainland, I had longed for what I had grown up with ... and you can't find that in any hotel!

The rooms themselves come fairly well equipped, should you desire to do your own cooking (we did not), with plenty of towels for the bathroom (huge bathroom in the Plumeria), and many amenities including the firmest beds I have slept on away from home. Also, Mike and Martina have added little touches throughout the suites that makes exploring them quite delightful, particularly for any days or evenings you don't wish to go out, and simply want to relax in the room.

Though my wife and I are not Beatles fans, our eldest son is and practically demanded that we tour Mike's museum while there. It was quite fascinating, and we enjoyed Mike's presentation, and could tell he had a genuine love for the subject.

Mike, Martina, Jeff and Tricia are delightful hosts, and have created a wonderfully peaceful atmosphere in a marvelous land. Though not particular to the Inn, chickens are everywhere across Kauai, and their early morning rooster calls can awaken you, though at the KCI, you;ll not have any of the drawbacks of staying in a hotel.





Call us at 808-821-0207


Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon
Join our FREE Email Mailing List
For Email Marketing you can trust